MiningSyndicate content

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 11 May 2016

Greymouth lounge bar Ferraris has been sold to the Regent Theatre trust, which plans to keep it operating in a revamped format that will see the...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 03 May 2016

Solid Energy has withdrawn mining operations from the bottom of the pit at the Reddale open-cast coalmine near Reefton, due to slumping.

- Friday, 04 March 2016

Birchfield Coal Mines Ltd has restructured its Giles Creek operation, near Reefton, resulting in "a number" of redundancies.

- Thursday, 11 February 2016

State-owned Solid Energy bosses have told a Parliamentary select committee that a decision on the future of the Stockton opencast mine in Buller...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 22 December 2015

A proposed open-cast coalmine at Westport will create more than 60 jobs � but it will also take the top off a ridgeline clearly visible from the...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 03 December 2015

A Texan-based company has applied to prospect 1.6 million square kilometres offshore of New Zealand -- including off the West Coast -- in the...

Brendon McMahon
- Thursday, 05 November 2015

In a coup for Runanga, former Labour Prime Minister Helen Clark has agreed to be patron of the Miners' Hall and has promised to be there to open...

- Tuesday, 22 September 2015

by Laura Mills
Application has been made to mine garnets from Mananui, just south of Hokitika.

Ben Aulakh
- Wednesday, 19 August 2015

The West Coast Regional Council expects its new plan "tilted in favour of development" will be appealed to the Environment Court.

Nicholas McBride
- Friday, 14 August 2015

West Coast mining companies are eyeing up Solid Energy, which is probably going to be broken into pieces and sold.

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 13 August 2015

The Solid Energy board has put the company into voluntary administration, and wants to start selling off its assets as a going concern.

By Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Conservation Minister Nick Smith says claims from Forest and Bird that Bathurst Resources has inadvertently caused fires on the Denniston Plateau...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 24 July 2014

An extension to the Roa coalmine near Blackball, just announced platinum exploration at Murchison and oil strikes near Lake Brunner show the...

By Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 18 June 2014

Almost 10 years after gaining consent, mining is under way at the Cypress Mine at Stockton — scene of the fierce and protracted Save Happy Valley...

- Friday, 13 June 2014

Mosman Oil and Gas director John Young, left, country manager Graeme Alexander, chairman John Barr and technical director Andy Carroll check over...