HealthSyndicate content

Laura Mills
- Monday, 27 March 2017

A West Coast District Health Board member who drove a suicidal man to the mental health unit at Grey Base Hospital after waiting two and a half...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 23 March 2017

The West Coast District Health Board has appointed a temporary manager to Granger House rest home, just three weeks after the Ministry of Health...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 14 March 2017

The Ministry of Health audit that led to the pending closure of Kowhai Manor rest home, heaped praise on the care of the residents, but it also...

- Friday, 10 March 2017
Laura Mills
- Monday, 27 February 2017

Residents of Kowhai Manor rest home have been told the licence has been cancelled and it will close in April, to the alarm of residents and their...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 24 January 2017

The West Coast District Health Board and Minister of Health have been sent 'please explain' letters after more elderly West Coasters revealed...

Laura Mills
- Friday, 23 December 2016

The Greymouth Family Planning clinic - including sexual health - will close at Grey Base Hospital in February, to be replaced by a phone service...

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 18 October 2016

The number of West Coast suicides has peaked at the highest level since records began nine years ago.

- Friday, 29 July 2016

Entry to Grey Base Hospital's Morice Ward is being restricted after some patients and staff had diarrhoea and vomiting.

Laura Mills
- Wednesday, 27 July 2016

The West Coast is in the grip of a suicide epidemic, a former West Coast mental health nurse and suicide author says.

Stu Drake
- Thursday, 30 June 2016

Filmed by NZCC Rescue Helicopter crewman Stu Drake.

- Thursday, 30 June 2016

Filmed by Stu Drake of the NZCC Rescue Helicopter.

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 02 June 2016

A temporary manager has again been appointed in charge of two Greymouth rest homes, Granger House and Kowhai Manor.

Laura Mills
- Friday, 27 May 2016

The Government today announced an extra $9.7 million for the new Greymouth Hospital after subcontractor prices came back higher than expected �...

Laura Mills
- Monday, 04 April 2016

Runanga Fire Brigade volunteers have attended five suicides in the past 14 months.