GeneralSyndicate content

Brendon McMahon
- Friday, 25 November 2016

A press release implying a "large aftershock" could hit the West Coast was retracted within an hour last night, prompting criticism from...

- Thursday, 24 November 2016

Disgraced Hokitika chartered accountant Lindsay Smith has started up two new companies, despite being convicted of fraud.

Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 21 November 2016

Freedom campers parked beside the Punakaiki River blocking access to the emergency water supply, stayed put on Saturday night despite being urged...

Viv Logie
- Friday, 18 November 2016

As Kaikoura reels from the 7.8 magnitude earthquake, Murchison is buzzing.

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 16 November 2016

The old Ngahere Hall has survived the indignity of a car crashing through the wall to end up wedged under the stage.

Laura Mills
- Tuesday, 15 November 2016

West Coast residents have been asked to protect the broadband fibre optic cable after the eastern cable was lost in the earthquakes early...

Laura Mills
- Monday, 14 November 2016

A Runanga couple spotted blue and purple lights in the sky during the swarm of earthquakes last night.

Viv Logie
- Friday, 11 November 2016

Hokitika and South Westland rivers enjoyed the best catches of the West Coast whitebait season, which closes on Monday.

Brendon McMahon
- Thursday, 10 November 2016

Some neighbours of the Westland Recreation Centre in suburban Greymouth have complained of booming bass music noise coming from the new gym since...

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 09 November 2016

West Coast police armed offenders squad (AOS) members were called out twice in the space of an hour last night to deal with men who were...

Janna Sherman
- Tuesday, 08 November 2016

New Westland Mayor Bruce Smith, only a week into the job, has been caught out after delivering a speech to Kumara School children using the...

Brendon McMahon
- Monday, 07 November 2016

A Stillwater family was today counting its blessings after their home was destroyed in an early morning blaze.

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 02 November 2016

About 20% of West Coast dairy farms could be in serious financial trouble, Federated Farmers heard at its quarterly meeting in Greymouth yesterday...

Janna Sherman
- Friday, 28 October 2016

A kayaker walked ashore after being rescued by Hokitika Surf Rescue volunteer Liam Anderson yesterday afternoon.

Brendon McMahon
- Thursday, 27 October 2016

Angry shareholders have called for heads to roll at the top of Westland Milk Products, with a pending vote of no confidence in the board...