GeneralSyndicate content

Laura Mills
- Friday, 23 June 2017

Greymouth Hospital Build

Laura Mills
- Monday, 19 June 2017

About 120 years after oil was found at Kotuku, the latest bid to produce commercial volumes has been abandoned.

Brendon McMahon
- Thursday, 15 June 2017

Despite appearances, Cobden beach is not experiencing widespread erosion and is actually "relatively healthy", scientists have reported to the...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 08 June 2017

The West Coast has been allocated $1.27 million for a series of new toilets and car parks dotted throughout the region.

Chris Stewart
- Thursday, 01 June 2017

The last saddler on the West Coast will close the doors for the final time tomorrow.

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 31 May 2017

A second-hand dredge that is still not doing its job two years after it was purchased by the Grey District Council is "working" but needs yet more...

Paul McBride
- Tuesday, 30 May 2017

Contractors today began dismantling the stricken fishing boat Kutere, after the owner ruled out refloating it as uneconomic.

Laura Mills
- Monday, 29 May 2017

In today's Star: father and son's amazing escape from fishing boat

Brendon McMahon
- Friday, 26 May 2017

Jacksons Hotel, a West Coast landmark for over 130 years will go under the hammer next month with a low $200,000 reserve after the owners decided...

Laura Mills
- Thursday, 25 May 2017

Ngahere and Nelson Creek residents say they have had enough of an appalling internet connection and have called a public meeting to demand...

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 24 May 2017

The owner of the derelict Revingtons Hotel has been ordered to secure the building immediately after the Grey District Council ruled it was...

Janna Sherman
- Monday, 22 May 2017

An Indian-owned and Auckland-based cake decorating company will bow out of two water plant contracts it had been awarded by the Westland District...

Viv Logie
- Friday, 19 May 2017

The run-down Revingtons Hotel, at the gateway to downtown Greymouth, could be bowled over and the site redeveloped commercially, with...

Brendon McMahon
- Wednesday, 17 May 2017

The Barrytown Hall - a popular venue for New Zealand music for at least 40 years - has been shut down after a noise complaint from a neighbour.

Viv Logie
- Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Squatters have taken over the once grand Greymouth hotel where Queen Elizabeth and Prince Phillip once stayed.