CrimeSyndicate content

- Tuesday, 01 April 2014

A West Coast paedophile who preyed on girls as young as five years old was exposed in the Greymouth District Court yesterday as William Ward...

By Viv Logie, APNZ and the Otago Daily Times
- Monday, 31 March 2014

The man apprehended after a five-hour armed standoff in South Westland early this morning following a vicious attack on two female hitchhikers is...

- Thursday, 27 March 2014

The man at the centre of an armed offenders squad stakeout in Reefton last night was remanded in custody when he made a brief appearance in the...

- Wednesday, 05 March 2014

A recidivist drink-driver from Cobden was sent to prison for nine months yesterday to save the public from him.

By Viv Logie
- Monday, 03 March 2014

At least 2000 cannabis plants, some almost 2m high, were uprooted last week on the West Coast during the annual cannabis cull.

- Friday, 28 February 2014

A 47-year-old Hokitika man vacated a not guilty plea in the Greymouth District Court on Wednesday, instead admitting to seven counts of rape and...

By Brendon McMahon
- Thursday, 20 February 2014

A biscuit thief is on the loose in Hokitika.
Late on Monday, thieves made off with several cartons of 200 delivered to Hokitika Guides for...

By Nicholas McBride
- Tuesday, 18 February 2014

West Coast police have drawn a blank in their inquiries after a series of sharpened spikes were deliberately driven into the road around Moana and...

- Thursday, 13 February 2014

Bystanders watched and walked by as a man was hit about the head in a vicious daylight assault in a Greymouth supermarket car park, on Sunday.

- Wednesday, 12 February 2014

A Blaketown man who bent over and ‘mooned’ police with his bare bottom and later tried to bite a constable, was sentenced in the Greymouth...

By Kurt Bayer
- Wednesday, 29 January 2014

A Greymouth hairdresser who admitted a “tail-end Charlie’’ role in a West Coast drug dealing operation today avoided a jail sentence.

By Viv Logie
- Monday, 20 January 2014

Residents of the Marlborough Street area woke to find their cars had been broken into over the weekend, and one discovered their vehicle missing...

- Friday, 13 December 2013

A judge said in the Greymouth District Court yesterday, it was concerning that Whataroa man, Denis Patrick Dennehy was unrepentant about his...

- Wednesday, 11 December 2013

A Christchurch car thief who has moved to the West Coast is having trouble finding a flat and a job due to court reports about her offending, the...

- Wednesday, 11 December 2013

Judge Brian Callaghan said in the Greymouth District Court yesterday that a fisherman’s explanation that he found LSD and methamphetamine in a bus...