Top meet rescues Kumara club

By Tui Bromley

The Kumara Racing Club was rescued from a precarious financial situation by a successful meeting in January.
Few knew it, but the club required loans from club members and the neighbouring Westland Racing Club, in Hokitika, to ensure the biggest day on the West Coast racing calendar could go ahead this year.
President Patrick Meates told the club’s annual general meeting on Saturday that 2012 had been an annus horribilis, after the race day had to be postponed from the Saturday to the Monday, resulting in a race day loss of $39,000 and an overall loss for the year of $92,000.
However, a successful meeting this year reversed the financial situation.
“We started the year in a very precarious financial position but thanks to cash advances from some members, sponsors and Westland (racing club), and the committee striving to reduce costs, we were able to proceed with the 2013 race day,” Meates said.
“We then had hugely successful race day allowing us to repay the cash advances from a profit of $88,000 compared to a loss of $39,000.
“Our overall profit of $77,000 (compared to a $92,000 loss) is commendable and attributed to our hardworking committee and their families, and all others who gave us tremendous support.”
Meates paid tribute to the late Hec Sinclair and Colin Reedy, two club stalwarts who died during the past year. Reedy left a legacy of a trophy to accompany the Gold Nuggets for the next 10 years, awarded to the winner of the main race.
Meanwhile, he said the track was in excellent order and a new toilet block was currently under construction as the 128th race day date of January 11, 2014, approached.
However, the membership was ageing and the club could do with an injection of youth.
Officers elected.—
President, Patrick Meates; vice-president, Bernard Fahey; past-president Tony Connors. Life members: Hamish Sinclair, John Ryall, Pat Fitzgerald, Harold Lee, Tony Connors, Joan Meates. Committee: Tony Connors, Pat Fitzgerald, Les Guenole, Peter Kerr, John Pugh, Joan Meates, Diane Howe, Winston Monk, Paul Comber.