Kelleher bowler of the year


Ethan Kelleher from the Cobden Bowling Club was named as the Grey Star bowler of the year at the Bowls West Coast annual prizegiving.
The honour was in recognition of his outstanding season, which included being selected for the successful New Zealand under-18 trans-Tasman team.
Sandra Skates, also from the Cobden club, was named as woman bowler of the year.
Other trophies presented.—
Women: Tom Bowes Cup (Champion of Champion Singles), P Holmwood (Cobden); J S Tinning Cup (pairs), D Dowell and D Watson (Hokitika); Sandra Skates Trophy (triples), J Keith, C Lalor, S Pascoe (Blaketown); Grey Press Shield (fours), M Pollard, M Sadler, C Freitas, D Bostwick (Hokitika); May Clarke Trophy (women’s singles), A Prendergast (Cobden); Elsie McKay Trophy (pairs), A Prendergast, M Bryant (Cobden); Nancy McTaggart Trophy (inter-club 7s) Cobden; Pop Castle Trophy (triples), D Dowell, D Watson, M Sadler (Hokitika); McFee Challenge Shield, Blake-town; ABC Challenge Cup, Cobden; Heslin Cup Challenge, Cobden.
Men: Nancy McTaggart Trophy (Champion of Champion singles), T Pascoe (Blaketown); Harry Wilson Memorial Trophy (pairs) J Lynch, M Dunn (Blaketown); Ron Outram Trophy (triples), W Johnsen, L Mangos, T Moreton (Greymouth); Percy Hurren Trophy (fours), W Johnsen, A O’Connell, A Whitehead, P Moreton (Grey-mouth); Nancy McTaggart Trophy (centre singles), E Kelleher (Cobden); Gary Pascoe Memorial Trophy (junior open singles), J Menzies (Cobden); Warnes Rose Bowl (open pairs), R Fraser (Dobson), J Lynch (Blaketown); Alan Hines Trophy (junior pairs), E Kelleher, J Menzies (Cobden); Lucas Rose Bowl (inter-club 7s), Blaketown; Nancy McTaggart Trophy (2x4x2 mixed pairs) S Skates, D Wilson (Cobden).