Greymouth Bowling Club in partial merger with Cobden


The Greymouth Bowling Club is to retain its identity but partially merge with Cobden to ensure the future of its three major tournaments.
It was decided at the recent annual general meeting that Greymouth would struggle to hold the tournaments due to a lack of workers and the club’s small membership. All 15 Greymouth players will, therefore, become financial members of the Cobden Bowling Club, enabling them to compete in both club championship events, and allowing Cobden to assist with Greymouth tournaments.
Les Mangos, re-elected as president of the Greymouth Bowling Club, thanked the members who had helped out during the past season.
The Alan Muncaster Memorial Fours, along with a new event, the All Day Triples, were well organised and attracted full greens.
The St Patrick’s Day tournament was not held due to poor weather conditions.
It had been a successful season, with club teams winning the West Coast Club Fours and Triples championship titles, along with a team of Bill Johnsen (s) Les Mangos, Albert Whitehead, and Tim Moreton being runner-up in the Coast Open Fours.
Officers elected: Patron, Ian McEwen; president, Les Mangos; vice-president, Alan O’Connell; secretary-treasurer, Bill Johnsen. Delegates: Laurie Boot, Les Mangos.
Match committee: Keith Wright, Peter Moreton, Bill Johnsen. Selectors: Keith Wright, Alan O’Connell.