HokitikaSyndicate content

By Brendon McMahon - Tuesday, 10 June 2014

An extra $80,000 to complete a review of council controlled organisations is among extras now bumping the overall proposed rates increase for...

- Friday, 06 June 2014

A Hokitika man who repeatedly harassed his ex-partner after the death of his son was convicted and ordered to come up for sentence within three...

By Brendon McMahon - Thursday, 05 June 2014

A petition opposing the shift of the Pioneer Statue has amassed over 200 signatures in a few days.
Organiser Nancy Prangnell said those...

By Janna Sherman - Wednesday, 04 June 2014

Hokitika’s Colleen Freitas has been honoured with a Queen’s Service Medal in recognition of her service to the elderly community.

By Brendon McMahon - Friday, 30 May 2014

Wider potential for The Luminaries to propel Hokitika and the West Coast on to a bigger stage needs to be pinned down, Development West Coast says...

By Brendon McMahon - Thursday, 29 May 2014

A “small” outbreak of legionnaires disease last year was eventually traced to a dirty spa pool at a Hokitika motel, according to the latest New...

By Janna Sherman - Wednesday, 28 May 2014

A relic from Hokitika’s early shipping history has been reinstalled at the Hokitika River mouth after months of sea protection works at the spit...

By Brendon McMahon - Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Monitoring for the international weather research project based at Hokitika Airport will ramp up this week once specialised equipment is set up....

By Janna Sherman - Monday, 26 May 2014

Hokitika Lions Club president-elect Jim Butzbach, left, Hokitika Goldrush 150 committee vice-chairman David Verrall and Micheal McEwen, of...

By Janna Sherman - Friday, 23 May 2014

After months of debate, plans to move the Pioneer Statue into the centre of downtown Hokitika were set in concrete yesterday.

By Janna Sherman - Thursday, 22 May 2014

The Auditor General will not be wading in to the murky waters around the Westland District Council table in the wake of a breach of...

By Brendon McMahon - Tuesday, 20 May 2014

A vehicle has ripped up the No 1 ground at Cass Square, rendering it out of bounds for the rest of the winter sports season.
Westroads staff...

By Brendon McMahon - Monday, 19 May 2014

Outspoken Westland district councillor Anthea Keenan says she has yet to decide whether to stay or go.

By Janna Sherman - Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Two major multi-million dollar investment projects are now under way at the Hokitika dairy factory.
The first sod was turned yesterday for...

- Tuesday, 13 May 2014

Ag Fest 2014 is on track to host over 200 exhibitors at Hokitika in early July.