HokitikaSyndicate content

Janna Sherman - Monday, 18 August 2014

A Hokitika man is fighting against a brain cancer, one step at a time.

- Monday, 18 August 2014

For the first time in 12 years the South rugby team will get its name etched on the Woodham Shield -- the pinnacle of South Westland rugby --...

Janna Sherman - Friday, 15 August 2014

Hokitika yesterday to mark exactly 100 years since the first Westland contingent left for battle in World War One.

Janna Sherman - Thursday, 14 August 2014

A Hokitika teenager is lucky to be alive after contracting a rare skin-eating bug that left him with severe blood poisoning, organ failure and in...

By Viv Logie - Wednesday, 13 August 2014

Greymouth High School maths teacher Rosa Cooper will head off to Hong Kong tomorrow as a member the New Zealand korfball team for the Asia-Oceania...

By Janna Sherman - Tuesday, 12 August 2014

About 100 local women will be among the 1100-strong field when the Spring Challenge adventure race heads off from Hokitika next month.

By Janna Sherman - Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Hokitika RSA rebuilding committee member Rose Matthews points to the $400,000 target for the new memorial hall.

By Brendon McMahon - Monday, 11 August 2014

When a young Margaret Richards came home one day in November 1947 to find her mother in intense conversation with the Hokitika Presbyterian...

By Janna Sherman - Wednesday, 06 August 2014

A replica of a weighstation that served the Hokitika harbour through its heyday and ended its days in a tornado in Stafford, is under way to go...

By Brendon McMahon - Tuesday, 05 August 2014

Westland Milk Products new $23 million boiler has been fired up for the first time since construction began 10 months ago.

By Brendon McMahon - Monday, 04 August 2014

A major new biography on Richard John Seddon will be have its national launch in Hokitika, in early September.

By Janna Sherman - Friday, 01 August 2014

The first part of a five-year project to document the role Westland people played in World War One is set to open at the Hokitika
Museum as...

Brendon McMahon - Wednesday, 30 July 2014

A modest Kaniere teenager who helped save the life of a whitebaiter at the Hokitika boat ramp last year has been recognised for his bravery.

Janna Sherman - Friday, 25 July 2014

Two plaques at the Tambo shipwreck memorial have been reinstated as work continues to improve the Hokitika River spit.

Janna Sherman - Thursday, 24 July 2014

The very genesis of Hokitika is set for a revamp.